52 year-old homeowner

About Sitter:

My name is Wade and I'm 52 years old. I'm a homeowner, I don't smoke, and I have no pets of my own (sadly) at the moment.

I own a unit in Newnham in Launceston which is rented out through a local estate agent. I'm aiming to move back into my unit late in 2022 (November-December, roughly). My unit has a large lawn, garden shed, veggie patch and flower boxes, and also involves maintaining the Council nature strip outside, so I'm not bad at keeping gardens and grounds under control.

I'm currently in Melbourne, but am aiming to line up some house-sitting to get back to Tasmania in the near future - any time from April onwards. My elderly father lives in Launceston and I'm moving to be a bit closer as he gets deeper into his old age. Also, the type of work I do can be done from home over the internet, so I'm aiming to do a lot more of that side of it, rather than work in an office on short contracts.

I'm happy to line up a Police Check but I don't currently have one. I can provide personal references as well - one I've worked with in Launceston, and another who I've known for around 30 years.

I'm happy to chat about your house-sit over the phone, or - much better - to do a bunch of video calls on Zoom or Skype, for instance, so you can get a feel for whether I'd be a fit. Like I mentioned, I'm in Melbourne at the moment - I'd aim to get there a couple of days early (taking my car on the Spirit) so we could meet in person, provided I'm a fit.

This is my first step into house-sitting, but I'm a 52-year old homeowner myself so I honestly don't think there's really anything to worry about. My own unit in Launceston is rented out through an estate agent there, and I've lived in the unit myself a few times, and have rented it out a few times over the years.

And animals... I've had cats as companions most of my life, but not in the last few years - I even thought about starting a cattery at one point. And I'm completely happy spending time with dogs, but I've not 'owned' one.

And finally, if you've got any questions or need to know about something I haven't mentioned here, drop me a line and I'll get back to you with details.

Since Jan 2018
  • House Sitter Name: Wade
  • Are You: Male
  • Region: North
  • Location: Anywhere in the North
  • Preferred Location: Anywhere in the North
  • Preferred Hours: Best email me first - my mobile is often on silent