Housesitter Extraordinaire and Nanny to the Stars

About Sitter:

Hello everyone, I am new to Tassie and to this site, so let me tell you a bit about myself. I am a 40 year old Australian citizen who is a non smoker with years of house/pet sitting experience and a current police check.

I am very security conscious , love all animals, nature and exploring new areas. I‘Ve returned to study online so I would have plenty of time to take care of and spend time in your home, watering plants and most importantly with your animal family.

I should mention here that I have had numerous Tassie house/pet sits lined up from early October 2017 until Sept 2018. I know they are the stepping stones to formally relocating to make Tassie my new home- I adore it here. This also means that I could potentially be your sitter for many years to come.

I love being the person who is blessed to give extra tlc to animal family members when their human family are away adventuring and I pride myself on sending weekly updates and stories with photos attached.

I have been a trusted professional house/pet-sitter in the past for employers, colleagues, friends, friends of friends and I now have many new and return clients, even since arriving in Tassie only 3.5 months ago. I know this is a free exchange site and I am here to fill a gap made by a short notice cancellation from January to April 2018- sadly the family are experiencing a very upsetting time.

Since my return to Australia four years ago, I have pleasantly fallen in to some very lovely house/pet-sitting positions and have loved them all. As an overview of my experience I have
-administered daily medication and first aid (tablets, creams, eye drops, ear antibiotic, changed bandages, splinters, bites etc) to a animals diagnosis with depression/anxiety and other physical health related experiences
-adopted well monitored routines to assist in creating a calm/safe/active/playful/restful environments

-followed very unique and specific dietary requirements
-cared for puppies still in training (incl toilet training)
I have cared for
-rescue/trauma care animals
-animals with special needs such as elderly with little mobility, deaf, albino and those experiencing mental health
-cats, dogs, chickens, rooster, ducks, geese, partridge, pheasants, fish, wildlife and any other creature that pays me a visit during my stay.

Growing up I spent a lot of time on my grandparents farm and would love the opportunity to care for farm animals. My long term goal is to one day open my own animal rescue where all animals big and small would be welcome.

My first job in Tasmania was caring for 4 indoor cats with two open-air spaces, extensive outdoor vegetable and herb gardens, indoor seedlings, worm farms and a compost. One of the cats require daily medication and all require feeding twice each day, kitty litter cleaned, pats, cuddles, bushing and general love and attention.

For 11weeks in May 2017 I cared for 2 cats, 1 dog, 4 geese, 3 ducks, 4 roosters, 2 different breeds of 17 chickens, 4 partridge and 8 pheasants on 6 achres of land just outside of Lorne in the Otway National Park. Here my days were full of wildlife encounters... I even had a visit from a Tiger Snake! All these animals came with specific instructions to follow. The home was large with multiple unique features including a Rayburn Heating System, rain water tanks, back up pump and open fire. It certainly kept me on my toes, but I love it. Before the owners came home they had already requested that I return annually for their 3 month holiday to Greece. *Please see Pam and Costas reference for further details*

Some other posts have been:

Cordeaux Heights (repeat client- 2nd booking) caring for a 1year old Staffy, worm farm, freshly laid grass seeds and 3 vegetable/herb gardens. This home belongs to a police dectective and his triathlete wife. *Please see Luke and Marijkes reference for further details*

North Wollongong (repeat client- now up to 4th booking) caring for 2 gorgeous male cats (and another younger female cat in another unit) and a many pot plants. With this post I even earnt a bonus for my great care and correspondence. Eve has also referred me to two other repeat clients- all cat lovers. *Please see Eve’s review for more details*

Another found through this site (repeat client- 2nd booking) was in Glebe caring for a 12mth old very sweet deaf Bull Arab Breed pup (new to the family and saved from a shelter), along with their garden with freshly laid grass. During this sit I had to learn sign language to communicate with the dog, put a sun vest on the dog and apply sunscreen numerous times a day and walk during low UV times as well as follow other training intructions giving consistency in learning to their beautiful dog. *Please see Natasha’s review for more details*

In Gerringong (repeat client- 2nd booking) I cared for a 16 weeks old puppy with loads of energy who was still in the toilet training stage. I also cared for their rather extensive herb, vegetable and flower gardens. *Please see Debra’s review for more details*

Northwood I cared for 1 older cat and 2 foster kittens, one of which was deaf. They were all indoor cats keen for lots of love and affection- this job came with the care of 2 teenagers, a pool and garden too!

To date IVe been asked by all of my bookings to return to sit for them again and I’m sure they would be more than happy to speak to you directly about me and their experience.

In previous years I have specialised in Nanny work both as a live in and live out sole carer of children aged 0- 16 years...and pets at times too. With 15 years in the Early Childhood field high quality care, first aid, awareness of health and safety, appropriate age/development activities, along with transportation is my area of expertise.
I have also been a travel Nanny in my role as a 24 hour live-in sole care Nanny for Russell Crowe and Danielle Spencer’s two young boys. With this role my attention to detail, awareness of security, care of highly valuable items/spaces, and respect for privacy was highly tuned.

I believe that being a very responsible and committed person with my experience and skill set would make me the perfect carer for your home, possessions, beloved animal family and garden. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to know more.

Miranda
Since Jan 2018
  • House Sitter Name: Miranda
  • Are You: Female
  • Region: South
  • Location: Hobart and Huon- open to other areas as well
  • Preferred Location: Hobart and Huon- open to other areas as well