Resort style retreat nestled in an idyllic seaside community – ahh the serenity!

About Owner:

Hi there! We live in an idyllic location on a large landscaped block just a stone’s throw from Carlton Beach and the Surf Club. The Dodges Ferry shops – with Hill Street Grocer, Bakery, Butcher, Chemist, Takeaway and Hairdresser are around a 5 minute drive away. A café open on weekends overlooking Park Beach is closer, and we’re a 15 minute drive from Sorell, 40 minutes from Hobart. The Dodges Ferry Hotel and Bistro (and BWS) is also a 5 minute drive down the road and has great meals (I recommend the Texas BBQ schnitzel).

Our home is five years old (6 star energy rating) and we have a separate guest bedroom with electric blanket, fan, heater, and internet TV. There's a bathroom with shower, bath and separate toilet. We have wifi, a well-appointed kitchen next to a generous living space, with books, music, and TV to keep you amused inside. Outside, there’s a BBQ area, 2 x fire pits and a few decks to just relax on and take in the fresh air and views.

The house is secure, well insulated and mostly takes care of itself, keeping in mind we’re on tank water and have an envirocycle (don’t worry - we’ll explain all that). The main thing is our sitter/s need to look after our two precious fur babies – the really important stuff!

Ruby is a 6 year old Papillon/Chihuahua cross. She is a very friendly, playful, energetic dog (when not having a nap) who loves humans! Dobby the house cat is 2 years old and very, very cute, but can be a little mischievous! The back yard is fenced and secure for Ruby, and Dobby is allowed outside at times when we’re home. It’s highly likely both will want to sleep on the bed with you, and provided Ruby has been out to the toilet before you go to bed, is very low maintenance and does love a sleep in! Dobby on the other hand is pretty good at night, but often ‘requires’ you to let him out in the morning at random times.

Ruby loves to play but doesn’t need a walk outside the yard unless you want to go. She’s happy hanging around the house and yard, and getting cuddles off our nearest neighbour. We also have a big vegetable garden we’re just preparing for summer at the moment, but you’re welcome to use any produce that’s growing at the time you visit. Some watering systems are in place, but we’d like you to water some plants in dryer weather (we’ll have instructions to help).

We’re looking to get to know friendly, trustworthy house sitters who can be available for anything from 1-2 nights up to a few weeks at various times of the year. Ideal opportunity for those sitters who maybe want to get out of the big city aka Hobart and relax closer to the beach for a weekend occasionally. On occasion when we go camping, we’ll be taking Ruby with us so it would just be Dobby at home with you.

Lastly, our trusted neighbours are happy to help out if needed, and we’ll provide you with their details also. Let us know if you might be a good fit, and if you have any questions. We’re looking forward to meeting good people, so if this sounds OK and you love animals, please get in touch.

Please text or email (preferred) and tell us a bit about yourself. Thanks heaps!

Matt & Donna
Since Oct 2019
  • House Owner: Matt & Donna
  • Region: South
  • Location: Carlton
  • From: 19/10/2019 To 20/10/2019 ,
    23/10/2019 To 26/10/2019
  • House Type: House
  • Car Space: 4
  • Have Pets: Yes
  • Preferred Hours: If not available, please leave a message and we'll be sure to get back to you. Thanks.