Beautiful Peaceful Permaculture farm sit in Judbury Huon Valley

About Owner:

We are wanting to get away up North Tas to visit family and go on some short adventures - Dates are not set in stone just looking for a someone in Tasmania who might like to farm sit so we can go on a few little adventures before the busy season.
About Us
Our home and small farm is in Judbury Huon Valley, We live on a hilltop with stunning views on a beautiful peaceful street. Our home is set away from the road so you have utter privacy and the neighbors are quiet (we are probably the loud ones with out brood of kids!)
The house is a lovely old weatherboard with huge veranda over looking the view. It has three bedrooms and lounge room with open kitchen/dining. Heat pump and fire place with wood provided. We are on tank water and have electricity , WIFI and home phone. There is no mobile signal but we use our mobiles in the house with WIFI calling.
We are a 15 minute drive to Huonville and 40 minutes to Hobart, Cygnet and Geeveston
We have a lot of animals who mean the world to us so our house sitters will ideally be around a lot to care for them and keep them company.
Ideally you will be able to come before we leave so we can show you our set up.
We have
Chickens
2 separate flocks - 1 large free range flock that requires, letting out , egg collecting/feeding/watering and putting to bed daily
Our 7 year olds Silkie flock in a separate fenced area that requires letting out , feeding/watering daily.
In this area we also have 5 beehives (you won't need to worry about them) and 3 Rabbits in separate cages who will require food/water and occasional poo removal to the compost.
We also have a medium sized very bouncy young dog who has a special collar and electric boundry fence to ensure she doesn't go off adventuring. She loves company and sometimes jumps on you. At night she sleeps inside she is allowed to cuddle on the couch but sleeps in her crate.
2 cats who are fed dry food in the morning and wet food at night and locked in at night to keep wildlife safe. They will need their kitty litter changed as the elder of the 2 doesn't like to toilet outside now she's getting older.
We have a pregnant dairy cow who just needs some hey thrown over the fence now and then
We also have extensive food gardens that MUST be shut after you go into them otherwise they will be annihilated by possums. We plan to have automatic watering set up so you don't need to worry about that but feel free to cook anything growing.

We understand that our systems and home require a lot of work so someone with a interest or experience in this lifestyle would be fabulous. We will provide you with home grown pork, veg , Jams, frozen berries and any produce growing in the garden.

If you have your own self contained set up that would be fantastic but we can sort our one of our rooms for your stay as well.

Anne
Since Mar 2020
  • House Owner: Anne
  • Region: South
  • Location: Judbury
  • From: 20/08/2020 To 31/08/2020
  • House Type: House
  • Car Space: 4
  • Have Pets: Yes
  • Preferred Hours: Please contact via email initially or text as having 3 small children who homeschool means it's hard to talk on the phone